August 17, 2010

India won the match against Srilanka by 6 wickets

Today Srilanka and India played their second match of the tri-series at Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium, Rangiri. Srilanka won the toss and elected to bat first.

Upul Tharanga and Tillakaratne Dilshan opened the batting innings for the Srilankan team. Upul Tharanga got out in the very first delivery of their batting innings. Praveen Kumar took the wicket and it was an awesome start for the Indians which gave a real boost to the teams bowling. After the fall their first wicket, things started to worsen as they were loosing wickets in regular interval and their run rate dropping drastically. Tillakaratne Dilshan some how managed to stay for long period and scored 45 runs before returning to the pavilion. Suraj Randiv and Nuwan Kulasekara contributed some runs to the team which helped in increasing the team's total. They both scored 43 runs and 22 runs respectively. By 46.1 over, Srilanka lost all its 10 wickets and scored a total score of 170 runs. Pragyan Ojha took 3 wickets, Praveen Kumar, Ishant Sharma and Ravindra Jadeja took 2 wickets each. Praveen Kumar was very economical bowler for the day as his economy rate was just 2.5 runs per over.

India needed 171 runs from 50 overs with 10 wickets in hand. First wicket fell when India's total reached 30 runs. It was Dinesh Karthik who gave a simple and straight catch to Nuwan Kulasekara. Later, India lost one more wicket when its score was just 31 and again one more wicket fell when India it reached 32. At this point of time, India was facing a very critical situation as their previous match where they got all out for 88 runs against the New Zealand. That same thing started to repeat. But Virender Sehwag made a change where he stayed till the end of the match and helped the team to come out of this situation. He scored a magnificent unbeaten 99 runs and finished the match with a grand style. India, by 34.3 over chased its target successfully by scoring a total of 171 runs with the loss of 4 wickets. India won the match by 6 wickets. Angelo Mathews and Dilhara Fernando took 2 wickets each.

Now, all the three teams have won a match out of 2 matches played.

1 comment:

gambutku said...

it's great for India.
Can we exchange link again??