April 14, 2011

IPL 2011: KXIP vs CSK

Chennai Super Kings and Kings XI Punjab played their second IPL match of the season at Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali, India. Adam Gilchrist won the toss and he chose to field first.

Aniruda Srikkanth and Murali Vijay opened the batting innings for CSK. In the very first delivery from Praveen Kumar, Aniruda Srikkanth got lbw out and returned to pavilion. Suresh Raina came in, but even this went into vain. In the very second ball of the innings even Raina got out giving a catch to Paul Valthaty. At this point of time, CSK were 0/2 in 0.2 over. This was the worst opening given by CSK team in any IPL. Soon Murali Vijay and Subramaniam Badrinath joined together and started to attack the bowlers in every angle. Murali Vijay scored 74 runs from 43 deliveries and Subramaniam Badrinath scored 66 runs from 56 deliveries. After the departure of Murali Vijay, skipper MS Dhoni came in and just quick fired to score a magnificent 43 runs in just 20 balls. CSK put up a total score of 188 runs with the loss of 4 wickets in 20 overs (CSK - 188/4, 20 over).

Paul Valthaty and Adam Gilchrist opened the batting innings for KXIP. I was eagerly waiting for Gilly to play some magnificent shots but his partner Valthaty did not let him as he himself was firing each and every delivery. Gilly did not play big even today and he departed scoring only 19 runs and i was in full disappointed. It was Paul Valthaty's day as he kept on his momentum going, his partners gave him enough support but the partnerships were not building that much though. At one point of time, it look almost impossible for the KXIP to win the match, but Valthaty made the difference. He just played awesome right from the beginning of the innings till the end. He scored his IPL maiden century and remained unbeaten scoring 120 runs in just 63 deliveries that included 19 fours and 2 sixes. In 19.1 over KXIP successfully chased the target scoring 193 runs with the loss of 4 wickets (KXIP - 193/4, 19.1 over).

Kings XI Punjab won the match by 6 wickets. Man of the match was Paul Valthaty who was solely responsible for winning the match.

This was highest total score scored by any team in this IPL season and the highest chase as well.

No comments: